Supporting Aussie businesses

This morning I heard that one of my favourite shops is closing down. This particular shop caters for anything country, including equestrian supplies, and sells top brand named merchandise, is owned by a lovely lady who works part time at woollies to supplement her business. My hubby and I have frequented this shop several times and bought “few” items. She knew everyone’s names, opened up on request if you couldn’t get there during business hours. Now, how many bigger businesses do that? I always do my research online regarding purchases and prices, and found out she was on par or even cheaper than online or physical bigger brand stores. If she didn’t have anything in stock, she would order it for you.

It’s quite sad, travelling around and noticing all these empty shops in the small towns. I don’t understand people not supporting local businesses. I think people these days are time poor and opt for the convenience of buying online, not having to leave home. I confess, I have bought online, but only if it’s not available in a brick and mortar store. I often frequent Gumtree, looking for upcycled items, or items that people have built themselves. I recently bought a bed head from a gentleman who had made it from pallets, slapped on some stain, and it looked like store bought but for less than quarter of the price as you would pay at a furniture store. Not to mention it’s very sturdy and not made overseas and falling apart couple months later.

I will always continue to support local businesses first and I wish there was a way to spread the word around and change people’s way of thinking. The future looks bleak for those people wanting to own their business.

Leave a comment