Bush camping

Hubby and I finally managed to get 3 days off together last week, so we decided to go camping. We went through several websites, looking at reviews and locations. We decided to visit the Wollondilly River Station, as it had fabulous reviews and looked beautiful from photos. We set on our way, all going good, until …… oh my God! Nowhere in the reviews we saw any mention of the actual road we needed to drive through to get there. Yes we knew it was dirt road and yes we knew we would drive up and down mountains. I had pains in the chest for nearly an hour, with my hubby delegating me as the traffic spotter, as there was only room for one way traffic. It was a rollercoaster ride, but I would’ve felt safer on the ride than our drive. Lo and behold, we met up with a truck, and the truck wasn’t giving way or moving over. I could picture us going over the soft edge down the mountain side. We were drenched in sweat by the time we arrived at our destination, but arriving, it was worth it. We had lovely 2 nights, no phone or internet reception, waking up next to the river, with wild kangaroos around us. I won’t mention the goanna that kept eating other campers food and chasing them into their cars (we had no probs) 😀. The drop down loos were a challenge though, needless to say, crossed the legs during the night and minimal usage during the day. No contact with the outside world for 3 days was fantastic, it was what we needed.

Leave a comment